Scapegoat (A Patrick Flint Novel)

Scapegoat (A Patrick Flint Novel)

Patrick Flint meets The River Wild

When his son is critically injured on a river trip, Patrick Flint finds himself in a race against time and a gang of outlaws who are determined the Flints won't make it out of Wyoming's Gros Ventre Wilderness alive.

“Best books I’ve read in a long time!” — Kiersten Marquet, author of Reluctant Promises

4.7-star series rating.

"A roller-coaster ride from the first page to the last!" — Merry, Amazon reader

Order Now!
About the Book

Patrick Flint is looking forward to a week of fishing, hiking, canoeing, panning for gold, and camping on the Tukudika River with his family. It’s a chance to redeem himself after the disastrous hunting trip he dragged them on the year before, as well as to observe big horn sheep in the wild, experience the land the Mountain Shoshone called their home, and show his parents, brother Pete, and sister-in-law Vera the wonders of the Bridger-Teton National Forest. However, when a dead body floats up before they’ve even pushed off, it’s clear the trip is not off to an auspicious start.

Things quickly go from bad to worse. Pete and Vera surprise them with their seven young children, and Susanne is unable to convince Patrick to cancel or even scale back the wilderness adventure. Accident-prone patriarch Joe Flint is vocally unhappy with every element of the expedition. Sixteen-year-old Trish takes a wrong turn when walking her five-year-old cousin Bunny back to camp, and the two become hopelessly lost in the wilderness. Then thirteen-year old Perry Flint topples from a waterfall and sustains a severe head injury.

When Pete takes a short cut back to civilization to get help, he runs into outlaws who’d rather kill him than risk the location of their gold discovery being revealed. After Perry wakes from unconsciousness, Patrick is able to rescue Pete from the outlaws and get the family back to the river. But Joe must stay behind to search for his granddaughters, leaving the group short several experienced paddlers, with dangerous rapids ahead.

With the attacking outlaws gaining on them, the remaining party of twelve braves whitewater, wildlife, their fears about the missing girls, a deteriorating family dynamic, and the ever-present threat of Wyoming’s mercurial weather in a race against time, as Perry’s condition rapidly deteriorates before their eyes.

Scapegoat is the fourth book in the Patrick Flint series of thrilling mysteries, a spin-off from the What Doesn’t Kill You saga. Available in digital, print, and audiobook.

If you like C.J. Box or Craig Johnson, you will love USA Today Best Selling author Pamela Fagan Hutchins’ Patrick Flint series. A former attorney, Pamela splits her time between Snoweresville, WY and Nowheresville, TX.

What Amazon readers are saying about the Patrick Flint Mysteries:

“A Bob Ross painting with Alfred Hitchcock hidden among the trees.”
“Edge-of-your seat nail biter.”
“Unexpected twists!”
“Wow! Wow! Highly entertaining!”
“A very exciting book (um… actually a nail-biter), soooo beautifully descriptive, with an underlying story of human connection and family. It’s full of action. I was so scared and so mad and so relieved… sometimes all at once!”
“Well drawn characters, great scenery, and a kept-me-on-the-edge-of-my-seat story!”
“Absolutely unputdownable wonder of a story.”
“Must read!”
“Gripping story. Looking for book two!”
“Amazing and well-written read.”
“Read it in one fell swoop. I could not put it down.”

Buy Scapegoat for a pulse-pounding mystery today!

Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links in the page above are "affiliate links." This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."